Day By Day – A Prayer

Maffrine's husband Tony reading to their daughter Joelle.  So cute!

My husband Tony reading to our daughter Joelle. So sweet!

My first ever blog post on Intwine Paperie blog! I certainly go out of my way to make it clear to people around me that I DO NOT LIKE TO WRITE. Ask Ophy, she will tell you that.  I avoid it as much as possible for many reasons (or with many excuses). All the amazing posts you have read in our blog thus far were the results of Ophy’s talents.  I hope you are not too spoiled by all the good writings that you can’t show grace to some mediocre ones from me once in a while. I promise, I will keep the torture short. Ready? Here we go!

Every night, my husband looks forward to tucking in our 17-month-old daughter Joelle to bed with stories.  I love hearing those cute giggles coming from her bedroom.  I reserve that special moment for daddy and daughter while I take a break or finish washing the dishes.

Recently, my husband requested that I sing hymns after the stories so that our daughter would be spared from the horror of highly imperfect pitch at the end of the day.
Yesterday night, I wanted to pick a really short one to sing so that we could put Joelle down quickly (she did not take any naps that day, and we were eager to spend the evening together watching Captain America 2!).  As I was flipping through the hymnal, I saw a short one that I had not sung before.  So, I decided to give it a try!  It was “Day by Day- A Prayer”.  The lyrics go like this:
“Day by day, day by day,
O, dear Lord, three things I pray:
To see Thee more clearly,
Love Thee more dearly,
Follow Thee more nearly.
Day by day.”


This is my prayer:

God, you have shown me in many occasions that my heart is prone to wander.  When my life being a mother and wife gets busy, I oftentimes begin my day without drawing near to You first and end my day carrying all the weariness of the day to bed with me.  But You are so faithful to convict my heart of needing to first love You and to walk with You closely so that I may depend on You in everything I do – day by day.

– Maffrine
Leave a Reply

