May I Grow in Thy Love and Manifest It to Mankind

The Valley of Vision is a collection of Puritan prayers and devotions.  It has been a great source of encouragement, strength, and even conviction for me and Maffrine as well.  However, it has been sitting on my bookshelf collecting dust up till now.  It wasn’t until Maffrine brought this book up in a recent conversation that I was reminded of what a rich resource this is for Christians.

The Puritans who wrote these prayers and devotions had a humility and love for Christ such that is not often seen today.  So, for this post, I am simply quoting one of these prayers that we may learn from its author and seek to imitate his Christlike attitude.

I chose the following prayer because of how it aligns with Intwine Paperie’s own mission to spread the love of Christ.  May we pray this prayer and seek to grow in God’s love and manifest it to mankind.

– Ophelia

 

Christian Love

O Lover of the loveless,

It is thy will that I should love thee with heart, soul, mind, strength, and my neighbour as myself.

But I am not sufficient for these things.

There is by nature no pure love in my soul;

Every affection in me is turned from thee;

I am bound, as slave to lust,

I cannot love thee, lovely as thou art, until thou dost set me free.

By grace I am thy freeman and would serve thee, for I believe thou art my God in Jesus, and that through him I am redeemed, and my sins are forgiven.

With this freedom I would always obey thee, but I cannot walk in liberty, any more than I could first attain it, of myself.

May thy Spirit draw me nearer to thee and thy ways.

Thou art the end of all means, for if they lead me not to thee, I go away empty.

Order all my ways by thy holy Word and make thy commandments the joy of my heart, that by them I may have happy converse with thee.

May I grow in thy love and manifest it to mankind.

Spirit of love, make me like the loving Jesus; give me his benevolent temper, his beneficent actions, that I may shine before men to thy glory.

The more thou doest in love in me and by me, humble me the more; keep me meek, lowly, and always ready to give thee honour.

(Emphasis added)

 

Leave a Reply

