My Trip Home & Some Reflections on Our Business

DeathtoStock_Wired6

We are back!…Well, I am back!  Maffrine never left.  Sorry that I have been MIA the past two weeks.  I went home to LA to be with my sister, who is on bed rest.  I thought I would be able to keep up with writing because my impression was that we would be watching movies and TV shows all day.  You know, since she isn’t suppose to move around so much.

Buuut….I get there, and it turned out that my unable-to-sit-still sister decided that we would purge my parents house of 18 YEARS of clutter!!  That’s right, 1-8. We donated over 2 van-fulls of items.  Who knew we had a fireplace behind all those boxes?!  Oh, and did I mention that my parents were away on vacation and were clueless of what we were doing?  Needless to say, we gave them a “Surprise!” moment when they returned.  Thankfully, they were grateful and not mad.  And we had some fun along the way.  ;D

In the midst of the busyness, I found one day to work on our business with Maffrine…and I mean IN THE SAME PHYSICAL ROOM!  Yay!  For those of you who don’t know, Maffrine and I live on opposite ends of the country.  We normally conduct business over Skype each week.  However, during my stay in LA last week, I got to visit her and baby Joelle.

Maffrine blessed me with her amazing cooking skills by making curry and chicken katsu for lunch.  Yum yum yum!  I changed the baby’s diaper a few times.  Then, we started working.

I got to touch our hardcore printer and learn how to hand-cut, -score, and -fold our cards.  The two of us collaborated on our second wedding card as well as on a new line of products (Coming soon!  We promise!).

We also took the opportunity to discuss future opportunities for Intwine Paperie.  You see, we have officially concluded our first quarter.  It has been 3 months since we opened our Etsy shop.  The following are just a few thoughts we had as we looked back on those 3 months.

1. We are extremely encouraged by the support of our friends and customers.

We thank you for your business, your words of kindness, your enthusiasm for our mission, and, most importantly, your prayers.  We CANNOT do any of this without you!

2. Working with each other has been beyond expectations!

We truly enjoy being partners.  Not only do our talents complement each other, we strengthen and sharpen one another spiritually, emotionally, and artistically.  We praise God for bringing us together!

3. Balancing priorities is hard but worth it.

At the onset, we have dedicated ourselves to keep our families as priority over our business.  As a result, our design process has been slow.  We have had to learn patience and discipline, and our business has definitely been put on hold many times.  However, we see the benefits of keeping the first things first each time our husbands come home from work and baby Joelle bursts in giggles.

4. This is God’s ministry.

Maffrine and I, from the beginning, wanted Intwine Paperie to be a ministry of encouragement – from our designs, to our blog, to our mission of spurring others to love one another more, to the actual act of giving one of our cards to someone.  We realize, though, this ministry is not about us or even about you.  It’s about God, and He will work through this ministry as He sees fit even if its reach does not seem to stretch very far at the moment.

5. While business has not been as busy as we had hoped, we understand that Intwine is still a baby, and we will continue to nurture it and trust in God’s timing.

Meanwhile, we asked ourselves, “What are some ways that we can continue to build our business?”  Continue to design cards.  Create other kinds of novelty goods.  Branch out to other types of social media.  Reach out to retail stores.

As we reflect on the past 3 months and plan for the future, I am reminded of Proverbs 16:9.

“The mind of man plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”

Please pray with us as we continually submit Intwine Paperie to God’s will and eagerly await to see how He will use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

